Ten Olympians Top All Star Line-up for $200,000 Gene Mische American Invitational

Katie Prudent, pictured here on Sassacaia III, bids to become the first four time winner of the American Invitational on April 9 at Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, Florida. ©Kenneth Kraus/ PhelpsSports.com.

Eleven of top fifteen computer listed riders accentuate exciting Saturday night at Raymond James

Tampa, Fl – April 1, 2011 – With this year’s edition of the $200,000 Gene Mische American Invitational, presented by G & C Farms, just over a week away, the line-up for the Saturday night showdown is all set, and this year’s roster of riders is one of the best in the thirty-eight year history of this long running Tampa tradition.

Ten Olympic veterans will go head to head at the ‘Super Bowl of Show Jumping,’ scheduled for Raymond James Stadium on Saturday, April 9, 2011 at 7:30 p.m.

Two-time United States Olympic Gold Medalists McLain Ward and Beezie Madden top the star-studded field, and they will be joined by fellow American Olympic veterans Lauren Hough, Margie Engle, Peter Leone and Leslie Howard.

Canada’s most decorated Olympic hero Ian Millar, named to ten Olympic Show Jumping teams over the years, will also compete for this year’s American Invitational title, as will Russian Olympic veteran Ljubov Kochetova and Venezuela’s Pablo Barrios. Also in the mix is Mario Deslauriers, another Canadian Olympic veteran, who is now an American citizen and has competed successfully for the United States at the World Equestrian Games and on the Super League tour in Europe.

Ward, Hough, Madden and Engle are the current top four riders on the United States Show Jumping Computer List, and they will be joined by twelve of the top twenty listed riders to make this year’s American Invitational one of the nation’s most competitive and highly ranked show jumping events.

Also at this year’s event, veteran United States rider Katie Prudent has a chance to become the first ever four-time winner in the long history of the American Invitational. Prudent is one of only two three-time winners in the thirty-eight years that this class has been held.

Over the years, the American Invitational has been recognized as the crown jewel of American show jumping, and year in and year out, has been one of its toughest tests.

The Invitational is proud to recognize our sponsors Land Rover Tampa, Johnson Horse Transportation, ESP, Lifeforce for Alltech, Horseware Ireland, Gold & Diamond Source, Horse Gym USA, Derby Gold, Innisbrook, Boomer Bents & Bikes and AtLast for their outstanding support and generosity.

The event takes place on Saturday, April 9, 2011 at 7:30 p.m. The gates at Tampa’s Raymond James Stadium open at 6:30 p.m. Included will be the always popular public course walk, during which the award winning Glee Show Choir from Tampa’s King High School will perform.

Prior to the event, parking lot #6 will open at 3:30 pm for a special Mane Event Party, featuring a JustWorld Horseless Horse Show hosted by Q105 radio’s Nikki Cruz and the Q105 mobile station.

Also on the evening agenda will be the elegant Parade of Breeds, a Segway demonstration of the course walk will take place and the Tampa Police Mounted Patrol Color Guard will be on hand as well.

Just prior to the jump-off, there will be a special performance by Arabian Nights. Also featured that night will be the 2011 Show Jumping Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and presentation of the USET Foundations Maxine Beard Award for Developing Riders in Grand Prix sports. Prizes will be awarded for the winning riders’ cheering sections. Each section of the Stadium will be assigned a rider before the Parade of Riders; later, those sitting in winning section will receive a prize.

Tickets on sale now at www.stadiumjumping.com.

For more information, call (800) 237-8924.

RIDER LINE-UP – 2011 Gene Mische American Invitational, presented by G & C Farm

1    McLain Ward
2    Lauren Hough
3    Beezie Madden
4    Margie Engle
5    Pablo Barrios
6    Richard Spooner
7    Ashlee Bond
8    Charlie Jayne
9    Kent Farrington
10    Kate Levy
11    Mario Deslauriers
12    Shane Sweetnam
13    Ian Millar
14    Candice King
15    Michelle Spadone
16    Christine McCrea
17    Ljubov Kochetova
18    Aaron Vale
19    Todd Minikus
20    Amy Millar
21    Schuyler Riley
22    Andres Rodriguez
23    Taylor McMurtry
24    Maggie Jayne
25    Georgina Bloomberg
26    Angela Covert
27    Peter Leone
28    Leslie Howard
29    Katie Prudent

American Invitational Champions over the Years

1973 $15,000 American Invitational
Rodney Jenkins & Idle Dice
1974 $15,000 American Invitational
Michelle McEvoy & Sundance
1975 $15,000 American Invitational
Michelle McEvoy & Sundance
1976 $15,000 American Invitational
Robert Ridland & Southside
1977 $15,000 American Invitational
Terry Rudd & Mr. Demeanor
1978 $25,000 American Invitational
Norman Dello Joio &Allegro
1979 $30,000 Anheuser-Busch American Invitational
Rodney Jenkins & Third Man
1980 $35,000 Anheuser-Busch American Invitational
Bernie Traurig & Eaden Vale
1981 $50,000 Anheuser-Busch American Invitational
Buddy Brown & Felton
1982 $50,000 Anheuser-Busch American Invitational
Melanie Smith & Calypso
1983 $50,000 Anheuser-Busch American Invitational
Katie Monahan & Noren
1984 $100,000 Anheuser-Busch American Invitational
Leslie Burr & Albany
1985 $100,000 Michelob American Invitational
Katie Monahan & The Governor
1986 $100,000 Michelob American Invitational
Tim Grubb & Linky
1987 $100,000 Michelob American Invitational
Lisa Jacquin & For The Moment
1988 $100,000 Michelob American Invitational
Katie Monahan-Prudent & Special Envoy
1989 $100,000 Michelob American Invitational
Greg Best & Gem Twist
1990 $100,000 Michelob American Invitational
David Raposa & Seven Wonder
1991 $100,000 Michelob American Invitational
George Lindemann & Three’s & Seven’s
1992 $100,000 Budweiser American Invitational
Ian Millar & Big Ben
1993 $100,000 Budweiser American Invitational
Debbie Stephens & Volan
1994 $100,000 Budweiser American Invitational
Michael Matz & Rhum IV
1995 $100,000 Budweiser American Invitational
Chris Kappler & Seven Wonder
1996 $100,000 Budweiser American Invitational
Harold Chopping & Brandy
1997 $100,000 Budweiser American Invitational
Todd Minikus & Ravel
1998 $100,000 Budweiser American Invitational
McLain Ward & Twist Du Valon
1999 $150,000 Budweiser American Invitational
Marley Goodman & Canyon *
2000 $150,000 Budweiser American Invitational
Schuyler Riley & Ilian
2001 $200,000 Budweiser American Invitational
Molly Ashe & Kroon Gravin
2002 $200,000 Budweiser American Invitational
Molly Ashe & Kroon Gravin
2003 $200,000 Budweiser American Invitational
Chris Kappler & Royal Kaliber
2004 $200,000 Budweiser American Invitational
Norman Dello Joio & Glasgow
2005 $200,000 Budweiser American Invitational
Beezie Madden & Authentic
2006 $200,000 Budweiser American Invitational
Rodrigo Pessoa & Baloubet De Rouet
2007 $200,000 Budweiser American Invitational
Beezie Madden & Authentic
2008 $200,000 Budweiser American Invitational
McLain Ward & Sapphire
2009 $200,000 Budweiser American Invitational
Chris Kappler & VDL Oranta
2010 $200,000 Gene Mische American Invitational
Armani & Jeffery Welles

Media Contact: Mason Phelps
Phelps Media Group, Inc. International
phone 561.753.3389  fax 561.753.3386

Be Sociable, Share!

Leave a Reply