US Saddle Seat World Cup Trial Participants Announced

Lexington, KY – The nation’s top saddle seat riders will compete in the 2012 U.S. Saddle Seat World Cup Team Selection Trials held at William Woods University in Fulton, Missouri on March 31, 2012 in hopes of earning a spot on the 2012 U.S. Saddle Seat World Cup Team. The Saddle Seat World Cup consists of a three-gaited and a five-gaited competition. At these Trials five team members and one alternate will be selected for each team. Athletes selected will represent the United States in December’s International Saddle Seat World Cup competition in South Africa.

The Saddle Seat World Cup is a bi-annual international competition that originated in the early 1980s as an informal exchange of saddle seat riders between the United States and South Africa. Teams from as many as five nations now compete for coveted World Cup titles.

A total of 44 applications were received from 22 states for a chance to compete in the Trials. These riders represent some of the United States’ most experienced and talented saddle seat riders. Similar to what they will experience in the competition, the finalists will compete in the Trials riding two unfamiliar horses. The Trials are held in two phases, each consisting of one rail ride and one pattern. Participants will ride horses donated to William Woods University that may be any breed or crossbreed suited for and trained in the saddle seat discipline.

The following riders will compete at the Trials:


Brooke Boyer/15/ Johnston, IA
Morgan Brison/17/ New Bloomfield, MO
Aleia Brown/14/Dayton, OH
Kathlyn Camacho/19/ Pleasant Prairie, WI
Hunter Chancellor/16/ Evansville, IN
Emily Chapman/17/ Tucson, AZ
Sarah Delisi/17/ La Grange, IL
Alex Holloway/19/ Edmond, OK
Chloe Holmes/19/ Scottsdale, AZ
Brooke Jacobs/31/ Georgetown, KY
Ali Judah/22/ Louisville, KY
Cameron Kay/14/ W. Bloomfield, MI
Alexandra Lawson/18/ North Salem, IN
Nick Maupin/18/ Sussex, WI
Courtney Mc Ginnis/15/ Fishers, IN
Abigail Mutrux/16/ Saint Louis, MO
Alexandria Ryan/16/ Boulder, CO
Kristen Smith/18/ Smithfield, KY
John Stutts/43/ Louisville, KY
Zane Sullivan/18/ Albuquerque, NM


Ashley Baird/18/ Hinsdale, IL
Morgan Brison/17/ New Bloomfield, MO
Hunter Chancellor/16/ Evansville, IN
Angela Darrow/20/ Hartland, WI
Drew Taylor Hewitt/16/ Advance, NC
Brooke Jacobs/31/ Georgetown, KY
Ali Judah/22/ Louisville, KY
Marjorie Townsend/17/ Kansas City, MO
Nick Maupin/18/ Sussex, WI
Brittany Mc Ginnis/19/ Fishers, IN
Mary Mitkish/18/ Emmaus, PA
Rachel Rafolski/20/ Brunswick, GA

Spectators are welcome to attend the Trials. The Three-Gaited Trials will be held 8:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m. CT and the Five-Gaited Trials will be held 1:30 p.m. – 6:00 p.m. CT. For a complete schedule and information regarding hotels and directions click here.

This program is generously supported by the USA Equestrian Trust, the United Professional Horsemen’s Association, 6D Ranch, and Shelby Horse Supply.

Contribution opportunities are still available for the U.S. Saddle Seat World Cup Team program. Learn more about supporting the Team’s efforts here.

For additional information or questions regarding the U.S. Saddle Seat World Cup, please contact Lori Nelson, USEF Assistant Executive Director, National Affiliates, by phone at (859) 225-6957 or via email at

Be Sociable, Share!

Leave a Reply