Tucker S. Johnson Will Be Honored with the 2011 Whitney Stone Cup from USET Foundation

Tucker S. Johnson earned the Individual Bronze Medal at the 2010 Alltech FEI World Equestrian Games during the Four-In-Hand Combined Driving competition. Photo By: Susan J. Stickle.

Gladstone, NJ – January 10, 2011 – The United States Equestrian Team Foundation is pleased to announce that Combined Driver Tucker S. Johnson of Hobe Sound, Florida, is the recipient of the 2011 Whitney Stone Cup. The award is presented annually to an active competitor who displays consistent excellence in international competition and high standards of sportsmanlike conduct while serving as an ambassador for the United States and equestrian sport. Johnson is a tremendously accomplished driver who helped lead the United States to a Team Silver Medal as well as receiving an Individual Bronze Medal during the 2010 Alltech FEI World Equestrian Games.

This is the second year that Johnson has received the Whitney Stone Cup, after being awarded the prestigious honor in 2001. Johnson now plans to retire from the competitive sport as he spent 2010 achieving many milestones. Along with other achievements, Johnson guided his Four-In-Hand team to a second place finish at the Land Rover International Driving Grand Prix at the Royal Windsor Horse Show in May.

After helping the United States win a Team Silver Medal at the 2002 World Equestrian Games, Johnson went on to a repeat performance at the 2010 Alltech FEI World Equestrian Games in Lexington, Kentucky. He was a member of the Silver Medal Team and after earning a 150.06 over the three phases of competition he took home the Individual Bronze Medal, achieving his personal best at a World Championship event.

“It feels great to be recognized; for the Whitney Stone Award to go to a driver from a non-Olympic discipline is a real treat,” noted Johnson. “It’s especially meaningful for me as I am at the end of my competitive career and was fortunate enough, with the help of the USET Foundation, to go to enough competitions that I could end on a high note.”

Johnson added, “At the World Equestrian Games I think that was the best I could do, and to have that happen at my last competition and contribute to a Team Silver Medal was fantastic.”

The presentation of this prestigious honor will be made at the USET Foundation Reception on January 28th, in Wellington, FL.

Whitney Stone Cup Winners

The Whitney Stone Cup is awarded in honor of the late Whitney Stone, who served as President and Chairman of the Board of the United States Equestrian Team from 1953 to 1973. Mr. Stone was instrumental in the creation of a civilian equestrian team when the Army retired from competitive horse sports after 1948. Previous Whitney Stone Cup winners are:

1980 – Michael Matz

1981 – James C. Wofford

1982 – Norman Dello Joio

1983 – Melanie Smith

1984 – Carole Grant

1985 – Joe Fargis

1986 – Conrad Homfeld

1987 – Katie Monahan Prudent

1988 – Bruce O. Davidson

1989 – Gregory A. Best

1990 – William Long

1991 – Hap Hansen

1992 – Lana DuPont Wright

1993 – Carol Lavell

1994 – J. Michael Plumb

1995 – Robert Dover

1996 – Anne Kursinski

1997 – Leslie Burr Howard

1998 – David O’Connor

1999 – Valerie Kanavy

2000 – Karen O’Connor

2001 – Tucker Johnson

2002 – Gunter Seidel

2003 – Peter Wylde

2004 – Debbie McDonald

2005 – Chris Kappler

2006 – Elizabeth (Beezie) Madden

2007 – Elizabeth (Beezie) Madden

2008 – Miranda (Randy) Caldwell

2009 – Steffen Peters

2010 – McLain Ward

The United States Equestrian Team Foundation (www.uset.org) is the non-profit organization that supports the competition, training, coaching, travel and educational needs of America’s elite and developing international, high-performance horses and athletes in partnership with the United States Equestrian Federation.

For more information on the USET Foundation, please call (908) 234-1251, or visit USET ONLINE at www.uset.org.

Media Contact: Mason Phelps
Phelps Media Group, Inc. International
phone 561.753.3389  fax 561.753.3386

Be Sociable, Share!

One thought on “Tucker S. Johnson Will Be Honored with the 2011 Whitney Stone Cup from USET Foundation”

Leave a Reply