• Save

Luis Larrazabal and Baroness Win the Day in First Surf Tour Grand Prix of 2023

Luis Larrazabal and Baroness.

Loxahatchee Groves, FL (January 17, 2023) – Venezuela’s Luis Larrazabal and Leeann Albin’s mare Baroness are the first Grand Prix winner of the 2023 Surf Tour season. The pair bested a class of 16 over the course designed by Hector Loyola.

A passing cold front unleashed wind and rain to start off The Ridge’s first $15,000 Grand Prix of 2023, but the uncharacteristically cold and wet weather did not dampen the spirits of its riders, which persevered in both of The Ridge’s two rings of competition. Despite a hard downpour, the newly installed Premier Equestrian ProTex Footing remained ideal for jumping. The Ridge’s Grand Prix course was a welcoming track that included a skinny bicycle jump, three double combinations, and a liverpool oxer as the final fence, to keep competitors on their toes.

Larrazabal and Baroness were the second to last to go, and set out to contest the leading times set by the historically speedy Daniel Bluman of Israel and Ireland’s Jordan Coyle. But Larrazabal and Baroness were not to be intimidated, and delivered an amazing double clear effort to top both of his competitors, crossing through the jump-off timers in 32.746 seconds. Coyle finished second and third aboard Costa Diem (34.422) and Eristov (34.658) while Bluman took fourth aboard Ubiluc with a jump-off time of 34.662.

For a full list of dates and the 2023 Prizelists, visit www.RidgeShowJumping.com.

To enter, visit www.HorseShowing.com.